Top 5 ½ tips for a trigger-free family christmas

 

This year Christmas has a bonus layer of added expectations from a 5 year old who is ‘wet-my-pants i’ll-stay-up-ALL-night’ excited about the prospect of a stranger scaling our roof and breaking in.

So in order for me to keep this, err, magic alive for the bipolar depressed and excited among us, i’ve put together my survival pack of ideas to make sure it goes swimmingly. 

1. We’ll ignore the calendar 

So the plan is to plan to be flexible.If my hub knows from the outset the type of things we have planned, but is assured that if he’s overwhelmed or can’t face it, than all will be cool, then all the better.

2. I’m on kitchen strike 

I don’t have time to bake gingerbread houses or squeeze the teats of reindeers to make the most authentic homemade eggnog. Not this year anyway. Ikea do a great ready made gingerbread house and places like Cook or Iceland have some superb food. It’s one day. ONE day. Prawn ring anyone?

3. Buy small, wrap big. 

I love this one. It involves degrees of deception. From the end of October i scour the shops for boxes. FYI: Homebase is a good shout. I collect said boxes and even if i’ve bought one frickin Shopkin, it goes in a jumbo box, wrapped in poundland paper. Same goes for socks, pants and anything else. Et voila, Christmas morning wow factor (shortly followed by ‘is that all i got this year?’ but by then we’re all getting sugar hits from the smarties tube that’s being passed around).

4. Employ the Booze Police 

Things we do for love hey? My husband loves a festive tipple but too many tipples creates a whirlwind of emotions, which i’m not standing for this year. It’s my Christmas too and in this case we know booze can be a trigger. So we’ve had the chat and he will drive if we visit relatives or we’ll make sure we’re drinking plenty of water in between glasses. Boring, but 100% practical.

5. We’ll be separating (for a bit)

Even for the mentally healthy amongst us, Christmas is pretty intense. So this year, we will be carving out some personal time and give each other space. For him it may be sleep, getting to the gym or cleaning (see previous blog) and for me it may be watching a film, playing ‘shops’ with my daughter – again. Or sticking my headphones on for some music relief. We’re better together when we’re sometimes apart.

5.5  Be you, have fun.

It’s obvious right? No. We all put too much pressure on. In the words of that great lyricist, Queen Elsa (If you have children then you’ll know what i’m  saying)….Let it go, let it go, don’t hold it back any more.

If you have some tips to share i would LOVE to hear them. Maybe you have a mental health condition and would like to say what you would like. I’d be very interested to hear.

Thanks for reading and let the festivities commence. x

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 ½ tips for a trigger-free family christmas

  1. Oh my gawd you’re hilarious! How have I not come across you before now? I was just telling a friend this morning that as much as I adore my group of bipolar bloggers, I used to have a mommy blog and my blogger friends were fun and funny, and I miss that. So you are basically an answer to prayer (if I had actually prayed). Consider yourself as being officially stalked (don’t worry though, it’s freezing cold where I live so I won’t leave my house until the the snow melts in May.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

